Skip to main content


Scientific exchange and academic networks  


The UNITWIN/UNESCO chair programme was set up in 1992 in order to solidify UNESCO’s interests at institutions of further education. It promotes university research, education and development by creating university networks and promoting cross-university and cross-border cooperation. Today, more than 700 institutions worldwide are part of the programme. In Austria, there are currently ten UNESCO chairs:

UNESCO Chairs in Austria

  • UNESCO Chair in Anticipatory Techniques and Futures Design
    Kunstuniversität Linz (since 2021)
    Held by: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Michael Shamiyeh
  • UNESCO Chair for Global Citizenship Education – Culture of Diversity and Peace
    University of Klagenfurt (since 2020)
    Held by: Prof. Dr. Hans Karl Peterlini
  • UNESCO Chair for Sustainable Management of Conservation Areas
    Fachhochschule Kärnten, Klagenfurt (since 2020)
    Held by: Dr. Michael Jungmeier
  • UNESCO Chair for Conservation and Preservation of Tangible Cultural Heritage 
    University of Applied Arts Vienna (since 2019)
    Held by: o. Univ.-Prof. Dr.phil. Gabriela Krist

  • UNESCO Chair for Human Rights and Security
    University of Graz (since 2016)
    Held by: ao. Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Gerd Oberleitner
  • UNESCO Chair for Bioethics

    The University of Medicine Vienna (since 2015)
    Held by: Dr. Christian Druml

  • UNESCO Chair on Integrated River Research and Management
    The University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences (since 2014)
    Held by: Univ. Prof. DI Dr. Helmut Habersack
  • UNESCO Chair for Peace Studies
    University of Innsbruck (since 2008)
    Held by: Prof. DDr. Wolfgang Dietrich
  • UNESCO Chair in Intercultural and Interreligious Dialogue for South-East Europe
    University of Graz (since 2007)
    Held by: Univ.-Prof. DDr. Pablo Argárate
    (formerly: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Bert Groen, retired)