Skip to main content


Science as part of global sustainability goals  
Photo: ©

Fellowships for female basic researchers: apply by 1st March!

Since 2007, L'ORÉAL Austria, in cooperation with the Austrian Commission for UNESCO and the Austrian Academy of Sciences, has been awarding scholarships for young female basic researchers in the fields of medicine, natural sciences or mathematics. The scholarships serve to finance, continue or elaborate research projects in Austria. The scholarship programme is financially supported by the Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research. The deadline for submission is 1 March 2023.

The aim of the L'ORÉAL Austria fellowships is to support young female researchers who are about to complete their dissertation or have already done so. Applications are open to female doctoral candidates or post-docs who

  • began their doctorate/PhD no more than three years ago (pre-docs) or completed their Dr./PhD no more than four years ago (post-docs);
  • are Austrian citizens or have been living in Austria for the last three years;
  • submit a research project in any of the research areas mentioned above which will be conducted in Austria (projects in related disciplines pursuing an experimental research approach will also be considered);
  • demonstrate either above-average degree scores or significant publications in peer-reviewed journals.

Length of Funding

L’ORÉAL Austria fellowships are awarded for between 8 and a maximum of 12 months (pre-docs) or between 6 and 8 months (post-docs).

Extent of Funding

A L’ORÉAL Austria fellowship is funded in the amount of 25,000 Euros (before tax). The fellowships are paid in total or in two instalments (at the beginning and at the half-way stage). The fellowship is intended to cover the costs of living. Parts of it can also be used for courses, seminars, childcare, congresses, short research stays at home and abroad etc.


Applicants may apply to other (funding) bodies. The Department of Fellowships and Awards of the Austrian Academy of Sciences must be informed of such applications and their outcome in writing. A final report must be sent by email to the Austrian Commission for UNESCO (walder-wintersteiner(at) and to the Department of Fellowships and Awards of the Austrian Academy of Sciences (barbara.haberl(at) within three months of the fellowship’s completion.

All further details on the fellowship, information on the selection process and the application form can be found here.

FOR WOMEN IN SCIENCE international
FOR WOMAN IN SCIENCE is a global partnership of L'ORÉAL and UNESCO that was launched in 1998 and has so far awarded prizes and scholarships to over 3,000 women. Five of the L'ORÉAL-UNESCO FOR WOMEN IN SCIENCE International Award winners have been awarded a Nobel Prize. Among them are Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A. Doudna (2020), Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard (Nobel Prize in Medicine 1995), Ada Yonath (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2009), and Elizabeth H. Blackburn (Nobel Prize in Medicine 2009).


© Kai Kublitz/L'ORÉAL Foundation