Culture

UNESCO’s Cultural Programme

UNESCO aims to safeguard and promote cultural diversity on a global scale, in order to preserve tangible and intangible cultural heritage as well as to foster intercultural dialogue.

Safeguarding and promoting cultural diversity
Article 1 of the UNESCO Constitution of 1945 indicates the preservation and promotion of cultural diversity as one of the Agency’s purposes and functions. In 2001, UNESCO Member States passed the Universal Declaration on Cultural Diversity; in 2005 they adopted the Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions.
This Convention, often referred to as the magna carta of cultural policy, is a major step towards countering the challenges and threats posed by globalisation and international trade policies in the cultural field.

Preserving our tangible global heritage
UNESCO has launched multiple programmes and activities to preserve and safeguard tangible human heritage. In times of war, cultural property is often intentionally destroyed because it is seen as a symbol of national or religious identity, but in times of peace such a heritage may well serve as a mediator for reconciliation. It is, however, not just war that endangers the tangible heritage of humanity – environmental pollution, urban sprawl, natural disasters, ecological damage, urban construction and major private building projects will also take their toll. The international community has therefore created several conventions designed to protect and preserve our tangible heritage on a world-wide basis: the World Heritage Convention concerning the protection of the world’s cultural and natural heritage, the Hague Convention for the protection of cultural property in the event of armed conflict, and the UNIDROIT Convention on stolen or illegally exported cultural objects.

Protecting our intangible cultural heritage
Intangible Cultural Heritage is an indispensable part of our cultural heritage. Faced with progressing globalisation, traditional forms of expression need special protection and encouragement because they are considerably more fragile than their tangible counterparts. In response to this challenge, UNESCO Member States passed the Convention for the Safeguarding of Intangible Cultural Heritage in 2003.

Promoting intercultural dialogue
Keeping up an intercultural dialogue between cultures and civilisation is a key aspect in the struggle for peace, cooperation and development. In these times of intra- and interreligious strife, ignorance, and dearth of knowledge, understanding and respect, UNESCO has stepped up its efforts to achieve an interreligious dialogue.

Kultur

Das Kulturprogramm der UNESCO

Die UNESCO hat den weltweiten Schutz und die Förderung der kulturellen Vielfalt, die Erhaltung des materiellen und immateriellen Kulturerbes sowie die Förderung des interkulturellen Dialogs zum Ziel.

Schutz und Förderung der kulturellen Vielfalt
In Artikel 1 der UNESCO-Verfassung von 1945 ist die Erhaltung und Förderung der kulturellen Vielfalt als Zweck und Aufgabe der UNESCO festgeschrieben. 2001 wurde die „Allgemeine Erklärung zur kulturellen Vielfalt“ verabschiedet, 2005 das „Übereinkommen über den Schutz und die Förderung der Vielfalt kultureller Ausdrucksformen“.
Das Übereinkommen schafft eine völkerrechtlich verbindliche Grundlage für das Recht aller Staaten auf eigenständige Kulturpolitik. Nationale Maßnahmen zur Schaffung eines Umfeldes, in dem sich  eine Vielfalt kultureller Ausdrucksformen entfalten kann, erhalten vor dem Hintergrund von Globalisierungs- und Liberalisierungsprozessen neue Legitimität.

Erhaltung des materiellen Welterbes
Die UNESCO setzt sich in vielfältiger Weise für den Schutz und die Erhaltung des materiellen Erbes der Menschheit ein. Während in Kriegszeiten Kulturgüter als Symbolträger nationaler oder religiöser Identität gezielt zerstört werden, sind diese im Friedensprozess oft Vermittler der Versöhnung. Aber nicht nur Kriege gefährden das materielle Erbe der Menschheit, auch Umweltverschmutzung, Verstädterung, Naturkatastrophen, ökologische Zerstörung, städtebauliche Vorhaben oder private Großprojekte können schwerwiegenden Schaden verursachen. Die internationale Staatengemeinschaft hat daher zahlreiche Abkommen geschaffen, um das materielle Erbe weltweit zu schützen und zu erhalten: Die Welterbekonvention zum Schutz des Kultur- und Naturerbes der Welt, die Haager-Konvention zum Schutz von Kulturgut bei bewaffneten Konflikten oder die UNIDROIT-Konvention über gestohlene oder illegal exportierte Kulturgüter.

Schutz des immateriellen Kulturerbes
Immaterielles Kulturerbe ist ein fundamentaler Bestandteil des kulturellen Erbes. Traditionelle Ausdrucksformen müssen gerade mit dem Fortschreiten der Globalisierung verstärkt geschützt und gefördert werden, denn sie sind im Vergleich zu materiellem Kulturgut, sehr fragil. Die UNESCO hat deshalb 2003 die „Konvention zur Erhaltung des immateriellen Kulturerbes“ verabschiedet.

Förderung des interkulturellen Dialogs
Interkultureller Dialog zwischen den Kulturen und Zivilisationen ist ein Schlüsselaspekt für Frieden, Kooperation und Entwicklung. Gerade in unserer heutigen Zeit, die von intra- und interreligiösen Konflikten, Ignoranz, mangelndem Wissen, fehlendem Verständnis und Respekt geprägt ist, setzt sich die UNESCO auch verstärkt für den interreligiösen Dialog ein.