Education

UNESCO’s Education Programme

“Everyone has the right to education” – stipulates Article 26 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Education is the prerequisite for social and economic development.

Within the United Nations system, UNESCO coordinates the global action programme “Education for All”. Its objective is to achieve the six global education goals decided on by the World Education Forum in Dakar in 2000.

Education is the prerequisite to improve the quality of living, overcome poverty, achieve gender equality, reduce infant mortality, contain population growth, ensure sustainable development and, ultimately, achieve peace and democracy.
Education aims to provide humans with the ability to actively and autonomously participate in public life and to critically question their current situation.

Implementing these education goals means including all stakeholders involved, especially the civil society and private economy.

The quality of education cannot be measured solely by its compliance with a performance standard. For the Austrian Commission for UNESCO, it is linked to values such as tolerance, solidarity, an understanding of diversity and respect for human rights, all of which are indispensable to ensure that people can live together peacefully in the 21st century.

UNESCO’s holistic understanding of education and the requirements to be met by education are defined in the “four pillars of education” (“Delors Report”, 1996):

In its annual World Education Report, UNESCO makes international comparisons of progress in education. In intervals of three to four years, UNESCO organises an international conference on education.

UNESCO takes the lead in activities for the United Nations Literacy Decade (2003–2012), and is also responsible for implementing the United Nations Decade on Education for Sustainable Development (2005–2014) which aims to disseminate the concept of sustainable development at all levels of education.

Bildung

Das Bildungsprogramm der UNESCO

„Jeder hat das Recht auf Bildung" – so heißt es in Artikel 26 der Allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte. Bildung ist Grundvoraussetzung für soziale und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung.

Innerhalb des Systems der Vereinten Nationen koordiniert die UNESCO das weltweite Aktionsprogramm „Bildung für alle". Ziel ist die Erreichung der sechs Weltbildungsziele, die bei der Weltbildungskonferenz in Dakar im Jahr 2000 beschlossen wurden.

Bildung ist eine Grundvoraussetzung für die Verbesserung der Lebensqualität, für die Überwindung von Armut, für die Erreichung der Chancengleichheit der Geschlechter, die Verringerung der Kindersterblichkeit und des Bevölkerungswachstums, nachhaltige Entwicklung, und letztendlich für Frieden und Demokratie.

Bildung soll dazu befähigen, aktiv und selbstbestimmt am öffentlichen Leben teilzunehmen und Gegebenheiten kritisch zu hinterfragen.

Bei der Umsetzung der Bildungsziele sollen weltweit alle Partner, insbesondere auch die Zivilgesellschaft und die Privatwirtschaft, einbezogen werden.
Bildungsqualität misst sich nicht allein an der Erfüllung von Leistungsstandards. Für die Österreichische UNESCO-Kommission ist sie geknüpft an Werte wie Toleranz, Solidarität, Verständnis für den anderen und Achtung der Menschenrechte, die für das friedliche Zusammenleben im 21. Jahrhundert unabdingbar sind.

Der ganzheitliche Bildungsbegriff der UNESCO und die Anforderungen an Bildung werden in den „vier Säulen des Lernens“ („Delors-Bericht“, 1996) definiert:

In ihrem jährlichen Weltbildungsbericht misst die UNESCO die Fortschritte in der Bildung im internationalen Vergleich. Alle drei bis vier Jahre richtet sie die Weltkonferenz der BildungsministerInnen aus.
Die UNESCO ist federführend für die Weltdekade der Alphabetisierung (2003–2012). Sie ist ebenso verantwortlich für die Umsetzung der Weltdekade Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung (2005–2014), deren Ziel es ist, den Gedanken auf allen Bildungsebenen zu verankern.